Ecommerce software home
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our YouTube channel
Search our site
Forum Search
Google Site Search
 All Forums
 Technical
 PHP (Unix / Linux / Apache) versions
 RE: Add a message to prod detail pages
Author « Topic »  

cpcsigns
Advanced Member

USA
139 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  07:29:26  
I'd like to add a message to all Product detail pages just above the hard rule/prev next area.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Colors vary from screen to screen and product images should not be used to choose products.

How do I do that? TIA

Michelle L Cosen

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  07:34:54  
Hi Michelle

The logical thing would be to add a custom field if you are using the css layouts https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/help/css-layouts.asp#proddetailorder

Another option would be to add the text in the long description of the product.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

cpcsigns
Advanced Member

USA
139 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  07:36:58  
Wouldn't I need to add it to every single item with those options?

I added the custom field.. but then I still need to enter the same text into every single product.


Michelle L Cosen

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  08:07:57  
You could download the product csv file, open it up in Excel or whichever program you prefer for this type of file, copy the text in there and then import it back to the store.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

cpcsigns
Advanced Member

USA
139 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  08:52:22  
Yeah.. that's far to much to manage if we need to take it out later or want to edit the verbiage.

We have 10,000 plus products.

Was hoping to have one place to manage like the content regions, but they can't be placed within the product detail page.. or I don't know how to do that.

Michelle L Cosen

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  08:59:56  
You can't add content regions within the product detail display, it would have to come at the end and that would be after the Previous / Next links.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

cpcsigns
Advanced Member

USA
139 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  09:20:07  
yeah I know.. that's why I asked how to do it another way.

Thanks anyhow.

Michelle L Cosen

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10468 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  13:07:10  
I can show you how to do this with Javascript and the custom field.
That would allow you to manage the text in 1 place.
Would that work for you?

cpcsigns
Advanced Member

USA
139 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  13:18:40  
dbdave

YES!! that would be fantastic and exactly what I need.

So many things I can do in dreamweaver simple thru a template but not thru this site with the way it's set-up.
I'm not a high enough level of a coder to come up with out of the box solutions.

Much Appreciated.

Michelle L Cosen

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10468 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  13:32:39  
Ok, sure. Let me gather that info for you and I'll post it up later from my home computer.
The cart is actually quite versatile and along the way I can sure you will learn lots of great things you can do to get the results you need.

I'll post back here in a bit.

David

cpcsigns
Advanced Member

USA
139 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  13:37:25  
yes.. that was why we picked this one. In hopes of making it our own and it ability to "tweak". I think I just get the standard answer first.. which is reasonable. But..

I've usually ask for outside the box items as I know there is a way.. I just need to learn it!!

So I really appreciate when you guys come up with those solutions.

This is sooo much better than a standard template program.

Thanks so much. Soon enough our site will be live and it'll be easier for you all to answer questions I have much easier. :)

Michelle L Cosen

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10468 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2018 :  20:25:43  
Ok, Michelle, I have you fixed up.
This is pretty straight forward and I think it should be easy to implement.

I do want to point out that I am just a ect customer like you.
What I am showing you here, is not really in the "scope" of the support forum, so I think Andy's standard answer was appropriate, because he is one of the admins here.

With that said, you will find lots or folks just like you willing to contribute and show you things that may be outside the normal support scope.
There are some great minds participating here.

Without further ado...

This is two parts.
One, a single line that would be entered into one of your custom fields.
Andy mentioned this before, and you still want to use that, but I am giving you a way to edit that in one location. Just like an include file or content region.

This is the line that goes in the custom field.
<div id="showhiddendiv"></div>

Then in your proddetail.php page, you want to put the following near the bottom of the page, before the closing </body> tag.

If you are using a DWT file to edit your site, hopefully you have an editable region established there near the bottom of the page.

Here is the code
<!-- begin custom field include -->
<div id="gethiddendiv" style="display:none;">Anything you want here. Can be just text, or images, html</div>


<script>
if (document.getElementById("showhiddendiv") !== null) {
document.getElementById("showhiddendiv").innerHTML = document.getElementById("gethiddendiv").innerHTML;
}
</script>
<!-- end custom field include -->


You have the space in red there that you can enter your line of text. You can style it up, add images, really just about any html markup.
The script there will look to see if the line (<div id="showhiddendiv"></div>) is in your page and then insert whatever have have defined in that red section there on the page.

It's quite easy to use the CSV download and upload feature to add that short line to one of your custom fields. I expect that with some sorting of your csv file, you can isolate the products that need this line added.
Post up if you have questions or problems.
I have tested this code I provided to you and I actually use it on my live site.

Thanks,
David

John M
Advanced Member

459 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/05/2018 :  13:11:08  
Here’s two ways how to add content regions to any position on the product detail page.

https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/support/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=109179

https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/support/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=109298

John

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10468 Posts

Posted - 05/05/2018 :  17:27:02  
Ok, it should be noted that John M's suggestions there will require an edit to the core ect files and need to be reinstalled upon every update to the store.

My suggestion will not.

Positivek9
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
4061 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/06/2018 :  13:18:07  
I've added a content region at the top of the product detail page to show special deals/coupon codes, etc. Then I just go to content region 8 and change the html/graphic to whatever current special I'm running. Isn't that what you are looking for? If not... disregard. :)

<% regionid=8 %>
<!--#include file="vsadmin/inc/inccontentregion.asp"-->

<!--#include file="vsadmin/inc/incproddetail.asp"-->

Example: https://www.**seeprofile**.com/proddetail.asp?prod=Spot-Tie-Dye-Jingle-Roller

Julie
Browns Summit NC USA

Edited by - Positivek9 on 05/06/2018 13:19:27

cpcsigns
Advanced Member

USA
139 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/07/2018 :  06:22:16  
thank you everyone for the suggestions. Glad to see a few options.

The option that reinstall the code each update is not my fav, only because I could easy need to fix a bunch of stuff that route and it can easily become unmanageable.

I actually have used the content region feature and I think that is great. I was just hoping to place it just above the prev/next and they don't work that way.

I'm going to try out dbdave's suggestion.

I'd love to see the ability to include the region code inside the description. It'd offer so much flexibility in managing items that repeat.


Michelle L Cosen
  « Topic »  
Jump To:
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates © 2002-2022 ecommercetemplates.com
This page was generated in 0.03 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000