RayCramblit
Advanced Member
USA
173 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 10/24/2017 : 14:15:41
I added code in the includes.php file in the cart to try to fix "inventory reappearing" error on January 27, 2017. The line of code I added: $persistentcart=1;
My client added a laptop in their showroom for customers to post orders directly and emailed me the following issue:
"We have run into a little problem since we have added a "self-service kiosk" to the showroom. People are placing their orders via a laptop that is out there and sometimes the shopping cart auto-populates with the previous person's info. Is there any way to turn that feature off that you know of? We have run into this in the past when we enter orders for people, but we often catch when this happens, but now that they are using a laptop that many people log in on it has become a greater issue."
I commented out the $persistentcart=1; line in the includes.php file and got this client response:
"It is still auto-populating, but I have a little more info about the conditions under which this is occurring. It only auto-populates when a new person is creating a login and then finishing their profile at the end of their order. That seems to be the only time this is an issue and the "fix" had no effect on this problem."
Any help is appreciated.
Ray Cramblit
|
Sinbad
ECT Moderator
USA
65937 Posts |
Posted - 10/24/2017 : 14:30:49
Hi Ray, it really sounds more like a browser issue and the auto fill can be disabled try googling the following and have him follow the steps for the browser that the laptop is using. Turning off Autofill in Internet Explorer Turning Off Autofill in Chrome disable autocomplete safari quote: shopping cart auto-populates with the previous person's info
Winners never quit, quitters never win CSS and Responsive DesignsUser Manual for Ecommerce Templates
|
RayCramblit
Advanced Member
USA
173 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 10/24/2017 : 15:00:32
Forwarded you suggestion to the client. I will post their reply.
Thanks for your help.
Ray Cramblit
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10410 Posts |
Posted - 10/24/2017 : 15:42:31
Ultimately, I believe it's because the browser is storing cookies. Even if the fields do not populate, when you click them, they will show a list of previous entries. I'm quite sure you can turn that all off and be sure to block cookies for the site as well. David ECT Power User
|
RayCramblit
Advanced Member
USA
173 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 10/24/2017 : 17:41:49
dbdave,
A friend suggested "session_destroy would do the trick and you can clear all variables using the unset function".
Would adding code to destroy the session and unset variables when the customer logs out solve the problem?
Ray Cramblit
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10410 Posts |
Posted - 10/24/2017 : 18:01:33
No, because the previous users session is not the problem. It's just simply the browser on that computer is set like most browsers, for one user as a personal computer, where things are saved to make it easy to re-visit a website and pre-populate info. This computer needs to be treated as a public computer and the browser settings changed so that it's being treated as a public computer. - No saving data. Find out browser they are using. Here is a good post regarding firefox https://askubuntu.com/questions/652128/how-to-stop-firefox-from-downloading-files-in-public-computer-to-its-home-downlo quote: There is a Mozilla tool for this called mkiosk:
Firefox Kiosk Mode with optional Tabs Guides for Public Access Point. Complete solution. Block downloads/addon, bookmarks, reset kiosk inactivity, retry on errors, restricted interface, show favorites as buttons and more!
This will fully block downloads from Firefox (and also prevent any changes to settings (like importing profiles and things like that))
chrome - https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/3017014?hl=en This one - I think might help - it seems to cover all major browsers https://support.iclasspro.com/hc/en-us/articles/218569268-How-to-Disable-and-Clear-AutoFill-Info-in-your-Browser Here is what I searched for - https://www.google.com/search?q=stop+my+browser+from+remembering+for+a+kiosk David ECT Power User
|
RayCramblit
Advanced Member
USA
173 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 10/24/2017 : 18:45:14
THANKS dbdave for taking all the time to help me.
I REALLY appreciate you and the other members in this forum. I have never experienced member support like this.
WOW!
Ray Cramblit
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10410 Posts |
Posted - 10/24/2017 : 22:55:49
No worries Ray. I gain more knowledge on this form than I share, so it's works pretty well. David ECT Power User
|
gm4toe
New Member
United Kingdom
55 Posts |
Posted - 11/07/2017 : 05:23:22
I don't think it is a browser issue as I have now had two orders in the last couple of hours, from completely different people, where a speurious item has been added. I can replicate it if somebody abandons their cart during the checkout process and then the next person, on a totally different machine, places an order and the item from the abandoned cart then appears at checkout.
I have to sort this out but need to retain a persistent cart facility if at all possible
Barry
|
Andy
ECT Moderator
95440 Posts |
Posted - 11/07/2017 : 06:32:49
Hi Barry Ray's problem was unique in that the orders were placed on the same computer at the same location. Your problem is different and so wouldn't be the a browser issue but rather it's likely to be a sessions issue. First of all, what code do you have at the top of your pages, I believe you are using wordpress so that would be in header.php - it should be like this <?php session_cache_limiter('none'); session_start(); ob_start(); include "vsadmin/db_conn_open.php"; include "vsadmin/inc/languagefile.php"; include "vsadmin/includes.php"; include "vsadmin/inc/incfunctions.php"; include "vsadmin/inc/metainfo.php"; ?><!DOCTYPE html> Andy Please feel free to review / rate our software
|
gm4toe
New Member
United Kingdom
55 Posts |
Posted - 11/07/2017 : 06:50:17
Code at the top is: <?php session_cache_limiter('none'); session_start(); ob_start(); include "vsadmin/db_conn_open.php"; include "vsadmin/inc/languagefile.php"; include "vsadmin/includes.php"; include "vsadmin/inc/incfunctions.php"; include "vsadmin/inc/metainfo.php"; ?><!DOCTYPE html><html lang="en">
which I believe is the same
Barry
|
Andy
ECT Moderator
95440 Posts |
Posted - 11/07/2017 : 07:07:23
|
gm4toe
New Member
United Kingdom
55 Posts |
Posted - 11/07/2017 : 07:34:04
Yes, which is how one customer initially found it I have an email set up (with custom css for its header) to confirm the order and this is also printable after checkout
The site functions as expected just this little glitch
Barry
|
Andy
ECT Moderator
95440 Posts |
Posted - 11/07/2017 : 07:48:57
I just tried your site and it seemed fine with no other orders. If it is happening intermittently it could well be an issue with the session variables on the server ie a new session is not being started when another customer comes along. Could you ask your host if there nay be a problem like that on the server? Andy Please feel free to review / rate our software
|
|
|