Ecommerce software home
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our YouTube channel
Search our site
Forum Search
Google Site Search
 All Forums
 Technical
 PHP (Unix / Linux / Apache) versions
 Prior Orders Pre-Populating New Order
Author « Topic »  

RayCramblit
Advanced Member

USA
173 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 10/24/2017 :  14:15:41  
I added code in the includes.php file in the cart to try to fix "inventory reappearing" error on January 27, 2017. The line of code I added: $persistentcart=1;

My client added a laptop in their showroom for customers to post orders directly and emailed me the following issue:

"We have run into a little problem since we have added a "self-service kiosk" to the showroom. People are placing their orders via a laptop that is out there and sometimes the shopping cart auto-populates with the previous person's info. Is there any way to turn that feature off that you know of? We have run into this in the past when we enter orders for people, but we often catch when this happens, but now that they are using a laptop that many people log in on it has become a greater issue."

I commented out the $persistentcart=1; line in the includes.php file and got this client response:

"It is still auto-populating, but I have a little more info about the conditions under which this is occurring. It only auto-populates when a new person is creating a login and then finishing their profile at the end of their order. That seems to be the only time this is an issue and the "fix" had no effect on this problem."

Any help is appreciated.

Ray Cramblit

Sinbad
ECT Moderator

USA
65937 Posts

Posted - 10/24/2017 :  14:30:49  
Hi Ray, it really sounds more like a browser issue and the auto fill can be disabled try googling the following and have him follow the steps for the browser that the laptop is using.

Turning off Autofill in Internet Explorer
Turning Off Autofill in Chrome
disable autocomplete safari

quote:
shopping cart auto-populates with the previous person's info


Winners never quit, quitters never win
CSS and Responsive Designs
User Manual for Ecommerce Templates

RayCramblit
Advanced Member

USA
173 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 10/24/2017 :  15:00:32  
Forwarded you suggestion to the client. I will post their reply.

Thanks for your help.

Ray Cramblit

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10410 Posts

Posted - 10/24/2017 :  15:42:31  
Ultimately, I believe it's because the browser is storing cookies.
Even if the fields do not populate, when you click them, they will show a list of previous entries.
I'm quite sure you can turn that all off and be sure to block cookies for the site as well.

David
ECT Power User

RayCramblit
Advanced Member

USA
173 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 10/24/2017 :  17:41:49  
dbdave,

A friend suggested "session_destroy would do the trick and you can clear all variables using the unset function".

Would adding code to destroy the session and unset variables when the customer logs out solve the problem?

Ray Cramblit

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10410 Posts

Posted - 10/24/2017 :  18:01:33  
No, because the previous users session is not the problem.
It's just simply the browser on that computer is set like most browsers, for one user as a personal computer, where things are saved to make it easy to re-visit a website and pre-populate info.

This computer needs to be treated as a public computer and the browser settings changed so that it's being treated as a public computer. - No saving data.

Find out browser they are using.
Here is a good post regarding firefox
https://askubuntu.com/questions/652128/how-to-stop-firefox-from-downloading-files-in-public-computer-to-its-home-downlo
quote:
There is a Mozilla tool for this called mkiosk:

Firefox Kiosk Mode with optional Tabs Guides for Public Access Point. Complete solution. Block downloads/addon, bookmarks, reset kiosk inactivity, retry on errors, restricted interface, show favorites as buttons and more!

This will fully block downloads from Firefox (and also prevent any changes to settings (like importing profiles and things like that))


chrome - https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/3017014?hl=en

This one - I think might help - it seems to cover all major browsers
https://support.iclasspro.com/hc/en-us/articles/218569268-How-to-Disable-and-Clear-AutoFill-Info-in-your-Browser

Here is what I searched for - https://www.google.com/search?q=stop+my+browser+from+remembering+for+a+kiosk



David
ECT Power User

RayCramblit
Advanced Member

USA
173 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 10/24/2017 :  18:45:14  
THANKS dbdave for taking all the time to help me.

I REALLY appreciate you and the other members in this forum. I have never experienced member support like this.

WOW!

Ray Cramblit

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10410 Posts

Posted - 10/24/2017 :  22:55:49  
No worries Ray.
I gain more knowledge on this form than I share, so it's works pretty well.

David
ECT Power User

gm4toe
New Member

United Kingdom
55 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2017 :  05:23:22  
I don't think it is a browser issue as I have now had two orders in the last couple of hours, from completely different people, where a speurious item has been added. I can replicate it if somebody abandons their cart during the checkout process and then the next person, on a totally different machine, places an order and the item from the abandoned cart then appears at checkout.

I have to sort this out but need to retain a persistent cart facility if at all possible

Barry

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2017 :  06:32:49  
Hi Barry

Ray's problem was unique in that the orders were placed on the same computer at the same location.

Your problem is different and so wouldn't be the a browser issue but rather it's likely to be a sessions issue. First of all, what code do you have at the top of your pages, I believe you are using wordpress so that would be in header.php - it should be like this

<?php
session_cache_limiter('none');
session_start();
ob_start();
include "vsadmin/db_conn_open.php";
include "vsadmin/inc/languagefile.php";
include "vsadmin/includes.php";
include "vsadmin/inc/incfunctions.php";
include "vsadmin/inc/metainfo.php"; ?><!DOCTYPE html>

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

gm4toe
New Member

United Kingdom
55 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2017 :  06:50:17  
Code at the top is:
<?php
session_cache_limiter('none');
session_start();
ob_start();
include "vsadmin/db_conn_open.php";
include "vsadmin/inc/languagefile.php";
include "vsadmin/includes.php";
include "vsadmin/inc/incfunctions.php";
include "vsadmin/inc/metainfo.php"; ?><!DOCTYPE html><html lang="en">

which I believe is the same

Barry

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2017 :  07:07:23  
That looks fine, when someone complete an order, are they taken to the thanks page where they get a summary of the order?

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

gm4toe
New Member

United Kingdom
55 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2017 :  07:34:04  
Yes, which is how one customer initially found it
I have an email set up (with custom css for its header) to confirm the order and this is also printable after checkout

The site functions as expected just this little glitch

Barry

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2017 :  07:48:57  
I just tried your site and it seemed fine with no other orders. If it is happening intermittently it could well be an issue with the session variables on the server ie a new session is not being started when another customer comes along. Could you ask your host if there nay be a problem like that on the server?

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software
  « Topic »  
Jump To:
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates © 2002-2022 ecommercetemplates.com
This page was generated in 0.03 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000