skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 07/31/2018 : 11:37:39
You did an update to my shopping cart this morning and the Continue Shopping is now missing from the cart page (the part that shows the items purchased). I REALLY need to have that there. Can you tell me please how to put it in? I've looked, but can't find what I need to do. Thanks very much
|
Andy
ECT Moderator
95440 Posts |
Posted - 07/31/2018 : 12:05:37
Hi There's a continue shopping link in the pop up cart that takes customers to the page they purchased from but not in the main cart to keep things uncluttered. Customers can use regular links on the cart page to go to the page they want to if they don't want to check out immediately. Andy Please feel free to review / rate our software
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 07/31/2018 : 12:48:15
What you say is well and fine, but it's a headache for my customers to get back to where they were using the regular page links if they click on "Edit Cart" in order to see it. They just won't do it ... Is there a way I can put it back on the page (best option)? Or ... how can I put ON THE SHOPPING CART ITSELF that they need to use their Back Button to return to the previous page (second best option)? Using the "regular" site navigation just doesn't cut it. This is a case where the "clutter" is necessary. thx
|
Marshall
Ecommerce Template Guru
USA
1916 Posts |
Posted - 07/31/2018 : 17:46:58
Add the Check Out Steps option to the includes.aphp file. I often use this method since the Continue Shopping button has been removed. xxCoStp1=$"Checkout Step 1 of 3 : <a href=\"categories.php\">Continue Shopping</a> or Review/Edit Order then Proceed to enter your address details"; $xxCstDtl="Checkout Step 2 of 3 : Verify your billing address, enter any special instructions, select method of payment"; $xxChkCmp="Checkout Final Step 3 of 3 : Select Shipping Method and Pay";
Of course, you only need the first on and you can have whatever text and link is best for you. But this is an easy method to replace the Continue Shopping button. <edit> I orignially posted code for use with includes.asp file. I believe I edited correctly for PHP. MarshallCENLYT Productions - ms designs Affordable Web Design Custom Ecommerce Designs Responsive Websites Cenlyt.com
Edited by - Marshall on 07/31/2018 17:48:47
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 07/31/2018 : 19:11:45
Thanks Marshall. I'm not sure how this works but I do recognize that it goes to the categories.php page and I need it to go to the previous page. If you can tell me how to code for that, I would be muchly beholden. What I've done in the meantime is to put a line of text at the top of the cart page telling the buyer to use his/her Back Button to get back to where they came from. It works, although it isn't very "professional". I'd much prefer to have the old Continue Shopping that works with the $actionaftercart include. I'm told it was removed to clean up some "clutter" but I expect many of us would prefer having it.
Oh well ... We can't always get what we wa-a-nt (as Mick would say), but if we try sometimes, we just might find, we get what we need. If you can't help me with the code to make that button go to the previous page, I'll be satisfied with my little line of text. Hopefully, my buyers will be ok with it as well.
THANKS AGAIN for your input. I learned something new and that's always a good thing!
![Go to Top of Page](images/icon_go_up.svg)
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10455 Posts |
Posted - 07/31/2018 : 19:58:06
Try it like this
xxCoStp1=$"Checkout Step 1 of 3 : <a href=\"#\" onclick=\"history.back(-1)\">Continue Shopping</a> or Review/Edit Order then Proceed to enter your address details";
Edited by - dbdave on 07/31/2018 20:01:43
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 08/01/2018 : 06:30:21
I put this on the includes.php page in this form:
$GLOBALS['xxCoStp1']=$"Checkout Step 1 of 3 : <a href=\"#\" onclick=\"history.back(-1)\">Continue Shopping</a> or Review/Edit Order then Proceed to enter your address details";
and the site wouldn't load. (Am I missing some quote marks?)
So I put single quotes after the = and just before the ; and it worked (sort of). This is what shows up at the top of the page:
$"Checkout Step 1 of 3 : Continue Shopping or Review/Edit Order then Proceed to enter your address details"
This isn't quite what I want, and the link on Continue Shopping gives a Page Not Found error. (It tries to go to "#)
So I'm throwing in the towel. I'm just not knowledgeable enough about this coding to have a handle on what I'm doing. If you can help me a bit more with this, that would be great. If you just want to be done with it, I think that would be ok too. We seem to be moving into an area where I'm running blind and I can understand any frustration you might be feeling. I just wish you hadn't thought it was a good idea to remove this feature. Clutter or no, having the option to show it or not is, in my opinion, always the best route.
Thanks very much again.
![Go to Top of Page](images/icon_go_up.svg)
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10455 Posts |
Posted - 08/01/2018 : 07:09:04
It's just a syntax issue - I'm not on .php so I can't test it here, but maybe Marshall can https://stackoverflow.com/questions/8067510/onclick-javascript-to-make-browser-go-back-to-previous-page
|
Vince
Administrator
42853 Posts |
Posted - 08/01/2018 : 09:24:08
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 08/02/2018 : 05:57:50
This totally didn't work! First it gave a fatal error on the soft cart, then it wouldn't go to the products page at all! I tried to get the error messages to show you but it just wouldn't go there again. I'm very sorry, because I wanted it to work. I think you guys/gals should work on setting it up to be an option for the cart page. Something that works as smoothly as it used to where the site builder can choose to have it (or not) then choose what the action will be. It's just a suggestion, but I truly believe your users will appreciate it, even if they don't know you've done it. Thanks for all your efforts, and please let me know if you do follow through on my suggestion. Enjoy your day.
|
Vince
Administrator
42853 Posts |
Posted - 08/02/2018 : 08:07:09
Hi again I tried copying and pasting that line into my includes.php file and it is fine. It may not be what you want but it certainly shouldn't cause an error. Maybe you missed a semi-colon at the end. One or two of the previous suggestions do seem to have syntax errors so maybe you were still using one of those. But anyway, we'll have a look at your suggestion and we are now bringing out a line of Hosted Shopping Cart solutions for those that don't want the flexibility of the Ecommerce Templates cart but want the advantage of never having to do anything yourselves with the code. Vince Click Here for Shopping Cart SoftwareClick Here to sign up for our newsletterClick Here for the latest updater
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 08/02/2018 : 08:44:26
You are absolutely correct. I inadvertently dropped off the semi-colon at the end. Now it works! I'm not crazy about where it's located on the page, but it DOES work and that's a step in the right direction. If you can tell me how to make it appear beneath the totals, where it was before, that would be great. If you can't, that's fine too. It's still better than the "use your back button ..." text that I added.
Sorry for my ineptitude, but I'm not real strong on php or javascripting code. Thanks again!
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10455 Posts |
Posted - 08/02/2018 : 08:57:46
If there is a text entry (with the text assigned by the cart - IE via the languagefile) in a suitable location, we can get you a button there. I can take a look later today. I may want to take a look at your site.
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 08/02/2018 : 09:10:24
In a location similar to where "Checkout" appears would be great. Later today, or even later than that, would be fine. No mad rush. You can see the cart shaping up at ouiknit(dot)com. (I will need to change the URL when it's ready to be launched ... another problem, but one I can deal with I'm pretty sure).
I greatly appreciate your efforts to get me what I want. I almost feel "spoiled" ... LOL!
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10455 Posts |
Posted - 08/04/2018 : 12:03:01
Ok, I had a look at this and I have a test site setup to show you what I think is your best bet here. There is no way I can see to get a continue shopping link there next to the checkout link without editing the core files. But what I suggest is you work off the current suggestion and enhance it so it looks better. I also looked at your site, and (maybe you are working on things) I think you should style the checkout into a css button. It's awfully plain there. It's also hard to tell the quantity there can be changed. It seems you have some css styling going on that is removing the border there and when I added a post card to your cart, I was notified that I need to add more to get to the minimum order value. But to an inexperienced user, it would not be obvious you can change the value of the quantity there. What I have done is set this up on a test site so you can see can be done with this (continue shopping) and I gave the button there the same class(es) as the checkout. go here and add to cart to see what I have done http://www.floridasurpluswarehouse.com/flsurplus/dev/proddetail.php?prod=monitor001 here is the code I am using there $GLOBALS['xxCoStp1']="<div style=\"text-align:center;\"><input class=\"checkoutbutton checkoutbutton1\" type=\"submit\" onclick=\"history.back(-1)\" value=\"Continue Shopping\"><br/>Please continue shopping or review your shopping cart below and proceed to checkout</div>"; Make sure that code stays on one line in your includes. Next, I would add some styling to the input.checkoutbutton class to get that looking better. If you need some suggestions for the css, let us know. I think you have a number of input classes on your site you might want to style into buttons.
![Go to Top of Page](images/icon_go_up.svg)
|
Positivek9
Ecommerce Template Guru
USA
4061 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 08/04/2018 : 14:22:42
I wasn't aware of the removal of the contunie shopping link until I saw this post... :(
I have to agree with skshannon.... I think customers need to have a way of returning rather than having to click several navs to get back to where they were.
I'd like to see a Continue/Return link within the "You are only $XX.XX away from Free Shipping! Keep Shopping for more Goodies!" Keep Shopping should be a "continue/return to page" link.
And I think instead of removing the original link there should be the option to display/not display in the includes. Let us decide if we want the clutter or not.
I'm on ASP....So any help would be much appreciated!
Julie Owned & loved by 7 German Shepherds
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 08/04/2018 : 14:54:25
Thanks for your input Julie. It's been quite a trial for me to have this feature on my site and it's almost mandatory for a smooth shopping experience for my customers. Everyone at eCommerce seems to be giving their all, but all the coding has my head spinning. I can grasp only a small portion of it because I'm old and my brain doesn't work as well as it used to. I like your suggestion of where to put it and I hope they decide to just put it back and give us the option. I'm almost ready to ask that my version be returned to the most recent one that had the Continue Shopping button included! I haven't tried the most recent suggestion sent by dbdave. I think he thinks I know a whole lot more than I actually do! I'll give it a try when I'm fresh & sharp and see what transpires. Thanks again to everyone who's working on this problem. Easiest, at least for me, would be to just put it back into the software like it was before. It was so simple and worked so well.
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10455 Posts |
Posted - 08/04/2018 : 15:25:48
Hi Skshannon, no worries and I understand you might be limited on capabilities, but it's easy to replace the one line I gave you with that new line. ![Wink](images/icon_smile_wink.svg) BTW - I am not an ect staff member, but rather a store owner just like you, trying to help a fellow store owner. Julie quote: I'm on ASP....So any help would be much appreciated!
try this in your includes xxToFSAm="<div><input class=""checkoutbutton checkoutbutton1"" type=""submit"" onclick=""history.back(-1)"" value=""Continue Shopping""></div><br/>You are only %s away from Free Shipping."
Edited by - dbdave on 08/04/2018 15:27:29
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 08/05/2018 : 07:52:06
Hi dbdave ... I used some of the code you sent and got the Continue Shopping text to be centered ... a small improvement. I agree that a styled button would be better and do request some assistance with the code for doing that. (I know some CSS but not the fancy stuff.) I wanted to try the code you sent for ASP but wasn't sure what changes are required. And I see a problem with having it attached to the "You're only $$ away from ..." in that if they've added enough to qualify for free shipping, they won't see it. I don't know what happened to the borders of the quantity boxes in the cart. I didn't do anything to change it ... and didn't notice it until you pointed it out. I agree that those borders should be there, but again, I have no idea how to put them "back". Any help you can give me is appreciated. I might even knit you a pair of socks if you're interested. Email ect(at)smokingdragon.com to let me know if you are. I suppose it also depends on where in the world you live ... because of the shipping cost (maybe). Thanks for everything, sk ps - I would really like to see your online store. Could you send me the URL?
![Go to Top of Page](images/icon_go_up.svg)
|
skshannon
Advanced Member
USA
198 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 08/05/2018 : 08:19:45
I got the css button code to work. Now I have to style it a bit ... but it's looking better!
|
dbdave
ECT Moderator
USA
10455 Posts |
Posted - 08/05/2018 : 08:35:47
Hi Shannon, the .asp code was for Julies site. ![Wink](images/icon_smile_wink.svg) Click my username to get a link to my website
Edited by - dbdave on 08/05/2018 08:40:27
|
|