dano2
Ecommerce Template Expert
USA
514 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 04/23/2020 : 07:33:09
Hi, is it possible to add a couple more *How did you hear about us? to that dropdown?right now it just shows google and yahoo.
thanks in advance
|
Marshall
Ecommerce Template Guru
USA
1909 Posts |
Posted - 04/23/2020 : 08:49:55
Should be in your includes.php file. Just follow the coding format already in place.
Marshall CENLYT Productions - ms designs Affordable Web Design Custom Ecommerce Designs Responsive Websites Cenlyt.com
|
dano2
Ecommerce Template Expert
USA
514 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 09:13:50
ok thank got it. However now, looks like its not resetting back to "Please Select" its remaining at the last one selected in the dropdown for example Yahoo or Google....
Edited by - dano2 on 04/24/2020 09:16:18
|
Marshall
Ecommerce Template Guru
USA
1909 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 10:09:15
Can you put the code from your includes.php for the drop down here?
Marshall CENLYT Productions - ms designs Affordable Web Design Custom Ecommerce Designs Responsive Websites Cenlyt.com
|
1818charlie
ECT Moderator
United Kingdom
1194 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 10:18:48
Hi dano2
This is the code used in includes.php for one of the sites I look after and works fine. If you replicate that and adjust to your needs that should work fine
$extracheckoutfield1="How did you hear about us?"; $extracheckoutfield1required=TRUE; $extracheckoutfield1html="<select name=\"ectfield\" size=\"1\"><option value=\"\">Please Select...</option><option value=\"Google\">Google</option><option value=\"Facebook\">Facebook</option><option value=\"Twitter\">Twitter</option> <option value=\"Returning Customer\">Returning Customer`</option><option value=\"Yahoo\">Yahoo</option><option value=\"Bing\">Bing</option><option value=\"Word of Mouth\">Word of Mouth`</option><option value=\"Trade Ad\">Trade Advertisement</option><option value=\"Other Search Engine\">Other Search Engine</option></select>";
Steve
Remember - Any edits to the ectcart.css file will be overwritten by updater's. ALL edits to ectcart.css rules should be placed in your style.css file
Edited by - 1818charlie on 04/24/2020 14:30:00
|
dano2
Ecommerce Template Expert
USA
514 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 12:40:55
Here is what I have in my code
$GLOBALS['extracheckoutfield1']="How did you hear about us?"; $GLOBALS['extracheckoutfield1required']=TRUE; $GLOBALS['extracheckoutfield1html']="<select name=\"ectfield\" size=\"1\"><option value=\"\">Please Select...</option><option value=\"Google\">Google</option><option value=\"Yahoo\">Yahoo</option><option value=\"Bing\">Bing</option><option value=\"Facebook\">Facebook</option></select>";
|
1818charlie
ECT Moderator
United Kingdom
1194 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 13:49:08
Hi dano2
Remove the three $GLOBALS[' & just add $ to the start of the three lines, as in the example I posted. As I say that works fine for the site's I have setup.
Also, bear in mind that if you don't want the extra checkout / order fields to appear on the printable invoice or packing slip, use the following in includes.php $extraorderfield1noprint=TRUE; $extraorderfield2noprint=TRUE; $extracheckoutfield1noprint=TRUE; $extracheckoutfield2noprint=TRUE;
For that you must be running a minimum ECT version of 6.6.3
Steve Bolton, Lancashire, UK
Remember - Any edits to the ectcart.css file will be overwritten by updater's. ALL edits to ectcart.css rules should be placed in your style.css file
Edited by - 1818charlie on 04/24/2020 13:55:57
|
insight
ECT Moderator
USA
4479 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 14:10:52
quote: Remove the three $GLOBALS[' & just add $ to the start of the three lines, as in the example I posted.
There isn't anything wrong with what he has there already, though. Probably just the browser remembering prior choices... Peter Professional ecommerce web hosting services Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003 https://servelink.com
|
1818charlie
ECT Moderator
United Kingdom
1194 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 14:28:00
Hi Peter The online PHP Parameters help page https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/phphelp/ecommplus/parameters.asp doesn't make mention of the GLOBALS for the fields, unless it's for WordPress. I know if an entry is copied from the language file to the includes file then the GLOBALS is required; that's my understanding. Steve Remember - Any edits to the ectcart.css file will be overwritten by updater's. ALL edits to ectcart.css rules should be placed in your style.css file
Edited by - 1818charlie on 04/24/2020 14:29:41
|
dano2
Ecommerce Template Expert
USA
514 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 14:53:41
ok so I actually copied the same code that Steve has. It works fine but it still doesn't default back to Please select. I also tried it on another computer and did a F5 first...
|
insight
ECT Moderator
USA
4479 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 15:01:41
quote: The online PHP Parameters help page https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/phphelp/ecommplus/parameters.asp doesn't make mention of the GLOBALS for the fields, unless it's for WordPress.
I know if an entry is copied from the language file to the includes file then the GLOBALS is required; that's my understanding.
Neither of those statements are true, actually. While $GLOBALS is required for WordPress, it'll work just fine for the PHP cart also. The alternate style $parameter and $xxLanguage both work with the PHP cart only. Peter Professional ecommerce web hosting services Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003 https://servelink.com
Edited by - insight on 04/24/2020 15:03:22
|
insight
ECT Moderator
USA
4479 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 15:21:22
quote: It works fine but it still doesn't default back to Please select. I also tried it on another computer and did a F5 first.
Clear your cookies for the site and it'll behave as expected with "please select". If the same choice is presented on a return visit it doesn't really matter, as the original source of the customer won't be something that ever changes, saves them choosing that same option again. Although I seriously doubt the value of a "how did you hear about us" thing anyway; I'd just pick a random choice and move to the next required input if it was me, not wasting time cruising through a list and picking an answer. You should get that information from your tracking/analytics and the referer in the order detail page. Peter Professional ecommerce web hosting services Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003 https://servelink.com
|
1818charlie
ECT Moderator
United Kingdom
1194 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 15:21:32
I'm no 'PHPologist' and I accept what you are saying. quote: Neither of those statements are true, actually
In that case the page needs amending. If either or will give the same end result, that's fine. quote: I know if an entry is copied from the language file to the includes file then the GLOBALS is required; that's my understanding.
Going back a few years, I can't say how many, that is what Andy posted quite a while back. If an entry from the language file is being reworded then add the entry to the includes file exactly and just amend the wording for the site in question, thus saving any issue with overwrites from the updaters. Steve Manchester England Remember - Any edits to the ectcart.css file will be overwritten by updater's. ALL edits to ectcart.css rules should be placed in your style.css file
|
1818charlie
ECT Moderator
United Kingdom
1194 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 15:46:42
quote: dano2 - ok so I actually copied the same code that Steve has. It works fine but it still doesn't default back to Please select. I also tried it on another computer and did a F5 first...
Hi Dano On your safety pro shop site I added 1/2oz Inert Practice Defensive Spray to be shipped to the ZipCode 90505, and then when I get to the checkout to put in shipping details I scroll down to how did you hear about us and select Yahoo. Refreshing the page does clear the Yahoo selection and shows Please Select, so as far as I can tell it is working the same as the sites I manage and my ECT test site Steve Manchester England Remember - Any edits to the ectcart.css file will be overwritten by updater's. ALL edits to ectcart.css rules should be placed in your style.css file
Edited by - 1818charlie on 04/24/2020 15:48:50
|
dano2
Ecommerce Template Expert
USA
514 Posts Pre-sales questions only (More Details...)
|
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 16:14:37
thanks Guys and thanks Steve, I am good then with the way it works.. thanks for all the help and looking into this!! much appreciated everyone
|
insight
ECT Moderator
USA
4479 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 16:43:16
quote: If either or will give the same end result, that's fine.
Yes, that's right, with the PHP cart either/or will give the same result. If you want to modify a language file entry, then sure, you copy the line into the includes file to avoid overwrites. But it doesn't matter whether it's written as $GLOBALS or $xxLanguage, whatever you have will be fine for the PHP cart. Peter Professional ecommerce web hosting services Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003 https://servelink.com
|
1818charlie
ECT Moderator
United Kingdom
1194 Posts |
Posted - 04/24/2020 : 17:32:56
Hi Peter Thanks for that. As the old saying goes, every day is a school day! Steve Manchester England Remember - Any edits to the ectcart.css file will be overwritten by updater's. ALL edits to ectcart.css rules should be placed in your style.css file
|
|
|